Data & AssessmentStudent Groups Student GroupsStudent Groups and Visibility

Student Groups and Visibility

When creating Student Groups, visibility is a setting option to enable for yourself as the creator or owner of the group, and when sharing with others. This lesson explains in detail how visibility can help unlock the power of student groups for your everyday use.

What is Visibility

In Illuminate, Student Visibility determines which students’ data you can see, like creating a unique student view based on commonalities of data sources held within Illuminate.

Student groups can allow a user to have additional access to students’ data depending on the permissions granted within a student group.

When a student group is created, the option ‘Visibility Group’ controls whether a user can access students’ data in the Students, Reports, Assessments, and/or Gradebook tabs. Often this permission is set to ‘Yes’ since the student group allows users the ability to view data for the students in the group.

Deciding whether you want users to have access to all students within the student group determines what permissions are given when sharing a student group.  In the Share tab, the permission ‘Can Use as Visibility’ determines this.  Choosing ‘Yes’ means users may see data for both rostered and unrostered students within the student group.  Choosing ‘No’ means users see data only for those students who are rostered to them.

The user may need to switch visibility to perform some actions in Illuminate when the permission ‘Can Use as Visibility’ is given. For example, you need to switch visibility if you want to print answer sheets. You do not need to switch visibility for some pre-built and assessment reports.

Visibility as the Owner/Creator

Sharing Visibility with Others

Student Group Scenarios Using Visibility

Option A: Students Specific to a Teacher

Examples: The football coach would like data access to those students on the team.  The RSP teacher would like data access to those students in his/her class. The counselor needs access to students assigned to him/her.

Setup:

  • The administrator creates a student group with all students associated to the team or class, enabling ‘Visibility Group’.
  • The administrator shares the student group with the associated teacher, giving the permissions ‘Can View’ and ‘Can Use as Visibility’.
  • The student group can be used to make a gradebook, run assessment reports, and more.

Option B: Grade level or department sharing/leveling

Example: Fifth grade teachers trade students for Math. Teachers would like to have access to student data from other fifth grade rooms.

Setup:

  • The administrator creates a student group with all 5th grade students enabling ‘Visibility Group’.
  • The administrator shares the student group with 5th grade teachers giving permission ‘Can View’ and 'Can Use as Visibility'.
  • Teacher creates a student group from the grade level group.

Option C: Student Access by Site, Role, and/or User

Example: The administrator wants teachers to access data for Gifted students rostered to them.  The administrator also wants the Gifted coordinator to have access to data for all Gifted students.

Setup:

  • The administrator creates a student group with Gifted students enabling ‘Visibility Group’.
  • The administrator shares the student group with all Gifted teachers giving the permission ‘Can View’.
  • The administrator shares the student group with the Gifted coordinator giving the permissions ‘Can View’ and ‘Can Use as Visibility’.
  • Teachers can now view data on Gifted students in their own classroom and the Gifted coordinator can view data on all Gifted students.

Troubleshooting

Problem: I created a Student Group and/or have access to use a Student Group but I do not see it as an option.

Solution: This means that this student group was not assigned to you with the appropriate permissions. If you created the student group yourself you will need to set the "Can Use as Visibility" option to ‘Yes’. If you did not create the student group you will need to inform the user who shared the group with you that he/she will need to give you the ‘Can Use as Visibility’ permission.

Problem: I created a Student Group and shared it to users with visibility. The user(s) can't see the group of students.

Solution: Depending on how the group was created, there may be students in the group that are not at a site the user is affiliated or assigned to. Check the student list view of the group in question - are they from various sites? Is the user affiliated with those sites? By adding site affiliations to the site and role affiliations of their current role, the user will now have site access to only those students in that student group. Only System Admin can change or modify affiliations. Visit Edit a User Profile to learn how.

Additional Resources

For additional resources on Student Groups- See Illuminate U's lesson: U055 Getting Started with Student Groups