Georgia State Assessments

Georgia Milestones

What is the purpose of Georgia Milestones?

The Georgia Milestones Assessment System is designed to provide information about how well students are mastering the state-adopted content standards in the core content areas of Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies. Importantly, Georgia Milestones is designed to provide students with critical information about their own achievement and their readiness for their next level of learning – be it the next grade, the next course, or endeavor (college or career). Informing parents, educators, and the public about how well students are learning important content is an essential aspect of any educational assessment and accountability system.Parents, the public, and policy makers, including local school districts and boards of education, can use the results as a barometer of the quality of educational opportunity provided throughout the state of Georgia.  As such, Georgia Milestones serves as a key component of the state’s accountability system – the College and Career Ready Performance Index (CCRPI).  

What content areas and grade levels are tested?

Students in grades 3 through 8 will take an end-of-grade assessment in the content areas of Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies. These tests are administered towards the end of the school year, typically in April or early May. Each school district selects a local testing window from within the state designated timeframe to administer the end-of-grade measures.

Students at the high school level will take an end-of-course assessment in the following ten courses:

  • Language Arts
    • Ninth Grade Literature and Composition
    • American Literature and Composition
  • Mathematics
    • Algebra I (Beginning Winter 2015)
    • Geometry (Beginning Winter 2015)
    • Coordinate Algebra
    • Analytic Geometry
  • Science
    • Biology
    • Physical Science
  • Social Studies
    • United States History
    • Economics/Business/Free Enterprise

The end-of-course measures are administered at the completion of the course, regardless of the grade level.  These measures serve as the final exam for the course, and contribute 20% to the student’s final course grade.  Each school district selects a local testing window, based on their local school calendar, from within the state-designated testing window. Middle school students who are enrolled in one or more of these courses are required to take the associated end-of-course (EOC) measure. If enrolled in a mathematics and/or science EOC course, these middle school students will not take the corresponding content area end-of-grade (EOG) measure. 

Grade Levels & End of Course Tests

  • 3-8 (English Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies). This is also referred to as the EOG (End of Grade) Assessment.
  • See above for summary of End of Course Tests. 14-15 administration includes all of the above end of course tests except (Algebra I) and (Geometry) which become available in 15-16 administration.

Performance Levels are called Achievement Levels for the Milestone test at both the overall level and the domain level. The Overall Achievement Level language is the same for both the EOG and EOC tests.

The Overall Scale Scores range between 140-830 for EOG and EOC and the minimum and maximum score vary across subject and grade level (see above).  

For the End of Course test there is a Grade Conversion Score (GCS) which represents a transformation of the Georgia Milestones scale score to a number between 0 and 100. Since the EOC assessment is used as the final exam for a course, the GCS provides a score on the typical 0 to 100 grade scale. 

Claims are referred to as Domains for the milestones assessment. Each Domain reports an Achievement Level which is defined here. There is no scale score reported at the domain level.

English Language Arts (ELA): 

To provide more details about a student’s performance on the Georgia Milestones ELA assessment, reports provide a reading status based on the subset of reading items. In addition, the reports detail a student’s performance on the two constructed-response writing items—the extended writing task and the narrative writing response. 

Reading Status – reported as one of the following:

  • Below Grade Level 
  • Grade Level or Above

Writing Scores Extended Writing Task – reported as scores for the following two traits:

  • Trait 1: Ideas, Organization and Coherence – number of points earned out of 4 points 
  • Trait 2: Language Usage and Conventions – number of points earned out of 3 points 
  •  Narrative Writing Response – number of points earned out of 4 points 

Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies: 

Domain mastery indicators provide diagnostic information to indicate a student’s strengths and areas of need at the domain level. The determination of the mastery category is based on the likelihood that the student would achieve proficiency on the test given his/her performance in the domain. 

There are three categories for reporting domain mastery: 

  • A student who achieves Remediate Learning is well below mastery on a domain and should consider additional study or instructional opportunities on that domain. 
  • A student who achieves Monitor Learning has not consistently demonstrated mastery on a domain and thus additional information should be used in order to assess whether additional study or instruction is necessary. 
  • A student who achieves Accelerate Learning has demonstrated achievement on that domain at or above the level expected of a student just at the threshold of Proficient Learner at the total test level. 

NOTE: The results for domains that are measured with fewer points are less reliable than for domains measured with more points. Thus, when only a few points are used to measure a domain, other measures (e.g., observations, homework, etc.) should be used to confirm the results reported here. To find the approximate number of points allocated to each domain, visit the EOC or EOG Blueprints  that can be found here.