Add or Edit Permissions

Your District's Illuminate administrator can manage permissions (e.g., what users can access and do in the Illuminate system). This lesson will show how to manage permissions by any of the following:

- site

- role

- site and role

- user

Where to Start

Where to Start

1. Click the Admin Gear on your toolbar, as shown circled above.

2. Under Users, click Permissions.

Define Scope

Define Scope

1. Select a Module (i.e., menu of options) that you would like to use when defining permissions. For example, if you select Data and Assessment you will be editing permissions from a menu of areas and tasks only accessible through the DnA module. Because any Illuminate module (e.g., DnA or Illuminate Special Education) has the Illuminate Student Information System running "behind the scenes," you will see these modules listed, as well. While all permissions managed in the "Data and Assessment" module relate to DnA, not all permissions that related to DnA are managed in the "Data and Assessment" module (since some are also a part of the Illuminate Student Information System that is also running). The All Modules option, however, provides access to all available permissions, regardless of the module in which they are officially contained.

2. Select a Permission Scope using the drop-down menu. This tells the system if you want to manage permissions (e.g., control what users can access and do in the Illuminate system) by everyone (meaning everyone in the district), site (meaning everyone at a particular site can access and do certain things in the system), by role (meaning everyone with a particular role - e.g., teacher - can access and do certain things in the system), by site and role (meaning only people with a particular role and at a particular site can access and do certain things in the system), or by user (meaning only a specific user can access and do certain things in the system).

Note: If sharing by user, note that the drop-down list of options will only feature users from the site for which you are logged on. To access users from a different site, simply click Change Site / Term and log onto the site that features the users whose permissions you would like to alter.

3. Click Load to the right of any of the scopes to populate the current permissions below, and make any changes.

Edit Permissions

Edit Permissions

There are many things you can do at this stage. Here are some options and guidelines:

1. Scroll through the many Permissions that you you can alter for the users whom fit the scope you defined in previous steps. These are all listed down the left side of your screen. If you have trouble finding a desired permission (and you are using "All Modules" as your scope, or else you are sure you are in the correct module), try pressing Ctrl (PC) or Command (Mac) plus "F" on your keyboard to run a search for the word or term for which you are searching.

2. Reference the Default Value column to see how the defined users' permissions will be treated for this given category if you do not specify any changes to the permission. Reference the circles above for this example: In this case, District Admins will - by default - not be able to lock attendance periods (since the default value is set to "No") unless "Yes" is clicked on the "Lock Attendance Periods" row and then (at some point after all changes are made) Save is clicked.

3. For any case in which you do not want the defined users' permissions set to the default value for a particular category, merely click "Yes" or "No" (based on your preference).

4. Click the "i" to see a list of current roles that have this permission.

5. After all the information in a module is edited and correct, click Save. For example, if I made changes to the Administration permissions and wanted to save them, I would need to click Save on the Administration row, as shown (circled in red) above.

6. If at any point you wish to exit without making any changes, merely click on a different scope and click Load.

7. If you want to use this set of permission settings with another scope (e.g., role, site, site and role, or user), click Copy. The "Copy Permissions" lesson can provide you with more support in this endeavor if you require it.

Though every district is different, below are examples of the types of permissions that might be assigned to various roles.  You Illuminate Implementation manager can guide you on what will work for your district.

Typical Data and Assessment "Teacher" Permissions

Data and Assessment

Reports

Students

Students Continued

Students Continued

Students Continued

Typical Data and Assessment "Principal" Permissions and Initial "District Admin" Permissions

Copy the "Teacher" role permissions you set up (in above steps) to the "Principal" and "District Admin" roles, then add the additional permissions pictured below. The "Copy Permissions" lesson explains how to copy permissions.

Data and Assessment

General Permissions

Reports

Students

Additional Permission Guidelines

Keep the following permission guidelines in mind the following:

Administrators

- "View students that are not rostered to the user" (this is necessary to prevent administrators' student access from being not limited)

District DnA Administrator

- Everything in the "Gradebook" module (only the District DnA admin might have this until teachers are expected or permitted to use the Illuminate gradebook)

- "Import assessments from the Amplify/QTI import queue" (if the District is using assessments from a company source like Amplify)

Next Steps

Next Steps

If you made changes to the permission and clicked Save, you should then see a green bar noting that the permissions saved successfully.

After permissions for specific roles or sites are set up, users affiliated with those roles or sites will have the given permissions. If you want to alter the roles and sites of any users via the User Management tabs (as shown above) and require assistance at any point, you might wish to visit the other User Management lessons related to your chosen topics.