Data & AssessmentDnA System Admin Site ManagementManaging the Bulletin/Banner Blast

Managing the Bulletin/Banner Blast

This lesson will guide you through creating/editing/deleting a bulletin or banner blast. Banner Blasts and Bulletins are a great way to communicate with users to share tips and tricks, Benchmark dates, important Illuminate information, training support, etc.

Remember, by default, all bulletins and banner blasts are shared with everyone. You do have the ability to share bulletins with specific roles or users by clicking the Sharebutton, however, banner blasts are designed to be shared with all users. The Bulletin and Banner Blast will expire after 90 days if it is not edited or deleted.

Where to Start

Where to Start

1. Click on the Administration Gear.

2. Under Other, select Bulletin List.

Adding a Bulletin/Banner Blast

Adding a Bulletin/Banner Blast

Select Add Bulletin once in the Bulletin List.

1. Add the Bulletin Date you want assign to the bulletin.

2. Give a Description, basically what you want the bulletin to say. You can even put a link to a website in the description such as www.illuminateed.com and it will be clickable from the Dashboard, opening a new tab or window in the browser.

3. Check the Banner Blast checkbox if you would like this to be a banner blast instead, which will stream across the top of the page, rather than be housed within the bulletin widget.

4. Click Save.

You will get a confirmation, "Bulletin saved."

Editing a Bulletin/Banner Blast

Editing a Bulletin/Banner Blast

To edit, once in the bulletin list, click Edit at the far right of your screen.

Edit whatever you'd like to in the Bulletin and click Save.

You will get a confirmation, "Bulletin saved."

Sharing a Bulletin/Banner Blast

Sharing a Bulletin/Banner Blast

Once in the Bulletin List, click Share at the far right of your screen.

Remember, by default, all bulletins and banner blasts are shared with everyone. You do have the ability to share bulletins with specific roles or users by clicking the Share button, however, banner blasts are designed to be shared with all users.  

You will see a drop down menu with titled 'Share With'- select the site, role grade level, etc. you would like to see the Bulletin. Then click Share at the bottom of the screen. You will see whomever you shared it with populate under 'Current Permissions'. To remove them from this, simply click the box under 'Remove' and click 'Save Changes'.

Some sharing examples may include sending a Bulletin to Principals attending a training in support of Illuminate Reports, giving them help document links to support the training. Another example would be sharing a Banner Blast that highlights the end of the First Grade Benchmark Administration Window to all first grade teachers, as opposed to all users.

Refer to the Share With Others lesson to review sharing best practices.

Deleting a Bulletin

Deleting a Bulletin

Once in the bulletin list, click Delete at the far right of your screen.

You will receive a prompt to confirm deletion. Click OK.

You will get a confirmation, "Bulletin deleted."

Next Steps

Now that you have learned how to create and manage bulletins and banners, check out Usage Statistics Dashboard Report.