Data & AssessmentSharing SharingCreate a Permission Group

Create a Permission Group

The permission group feature gives you the ability to pre-define and manage groups of users so that you can easily access those groups when sharing assessments, summary assessments, demographics, reports, and gradebooks. Since this is not a default permission, you will need to contact your district to enable the permission group permission. This lesson will walk you through how to create a permission group.

Where to Start

Where to Start

1. Click the Administration Icon.

2. Under Users, click Permissions Groups.

Note: If you do not see the icon/Administration link or the Permission Group link, that means you have not been granted access to those. Please contact your district for assistance.

Create a New Permission Group

Create a New Permission Group

Once in the list of Permission Group list, click New.

Fill in the Title (1) for your permission group, enter an optional Description (2), and click Save Permission Group (3).

Choose Share By Option

1. Click the Click here button to go to the Share with more users step, or simply scroll down your page to this option.

2. Choose how you would like to select users in this permission group by choosing an option from the Share With menu. Depending on your selection, you will need to identify who is included in the group.

Add Permissions

Add Permissions

1. Once you make your Share With selection, corresponding options will appear.

2. In the example above, User was chosen.  Accordingly, you would need to type in the user name(s) to find and add the user(s) to the group.

Note: If you select I understand how sharing works, so get out of my way, you will be presented with all the possible sharing options.

2. Click Share.

You have now created a permissions group! At the top of the page, you will see who is included in the the group. To remove a permission, click the appropriate box and click Save Changes.

Note: Any changes you make to a permission group will automatically take effect on anything shared with that group. For example, if you create an "RTI Team" permission group containing Joe, Tina, and Tim, and then you share an assessment and some reports with the RTI Team permission group, then Joe, Tina, and Tim can access the assessment and reports. If you later remove Joe from the permission group and add Cho, then only Tina, Tim, and Cho will have access to those items (automatically, without you having to do any re-sharing).

Next Steps

Next Steps

Now that you have created a permission group, you will have the option to select that permission group when sharing and apply type of access. See the following lessons for more information: 'Share with Others'.